Paul Durham – The Luck Uglies #3: Rise of the Ragged Clover

luck uglies 3 hc cRelease date: 3/1/16


ISBN: 9780062271563

400 pages

“There is not a single dull moment in this story. A total delight.”

–ALA Booklist (starred reveiw)

An ALA Notable Book



When Rye travels back home to Village Drowning to help her father with his plan to defeat the Luck Uglies’ bitter rivals, she finds the place in shambles. Monstrous Bog Noblins now raid the streets at night. And people are afraid to leave their houses because no one is around to protect them. Rye realizes she can’t wait for the adults to sort it out—so she enlists her friends to come up with a plan. A plan that could change everything for Drowning . . . because the only way to save her village may be to destroy it.

The books in the series are:

Book #1: The Luck Uglies

The Luck Uglies #2: Fork-Tongue Charmers

The Luck Uglies #3: Rise of the Ragged Clover


Durham Headshot

Paul Durham is an award-winning author who specializes in writing books for young readers. His debut middle grade fantasy trilogy, The Luck Uglies (HarperCollins), has been published in the United States and abroad, including in the United Kingdom, Australia, India, Norway, and Turkey. The Luck Uglies was named a 2015 ALA Notable Children’s Book, the winner of the 2014 Cybils Award for Speculative Fiction, a New York Public Library Best Book for Reading and Sharing, an ALA Booklist Top Ten First Novel for Youth, and a Great Stone Face Nominee here in New Hampshire. His next series of middle grade novels will be published by Crown Books for Young Readers (Random House) beginning in 2018. Paul lives in Exeter, New Hampshire, where he writes in an abandoned chicken coop at the edge of a swamp. When he isn’t writing, Paul regularly speaks at schools and book festivals around the country.

%d bloggers like this: